Fitness

My next challenge…

So now I’ve finished my diploma, I’ve found myself searching for the next challenge to take on. I felt like I wanted to do something that challenged me mentally, physically and emotionally, but something I also got enjoyment out of, and a sense of personal achievement. So last Wednesday afternoon, I signed up to do a half marathon in my local town.

Fitness and wellbeing is something I’ve always been interested in and passionate about, so this seemed like the perfect challenge for me. I began taking up running last year; this started as a result of the classic ‘I’m going on holiday in 6 weeks and need a beach body’ ritual we all know so well! However, once I started, it became something much more to me than that. It actually became my escape from the anxieties of everyday life, allowed me to be alone with my thoughts, reflecting on my day, my relationships, and the general day to day trivialities that pop into my head. I won’t lie, it is a struggle when the alarm clock goes off at 5:35am, and my body is aching with tiredness. But as soon as I step outside into the crisp morning air, all my worries are left at home and all I need to think about is mapping my route, and beating my previous pace and time. I’m lucky enough to live in a beautiful village in the Cotswolds, where if you are out and about before 7am, there are some wonderful sights to see – the light fog, still lingering over the fields, or the wild rabbits and the occasional fox still doing their morning route. One of the best moments however, is crossing the paths of other runners. We all do the same thing – run past each other, with a ‘knowing’ smile, a silent ‘well done for getting up and doing this’ as we could all so easily turn over when the alarm goes off and snooze it for an extra hour.

So this is what has led me to the decision to take part in the half marathon. Running is something that I truly enjoy, and get a lot of motivation and satisfaction out of. I’ve completed week one of my training so far – it’s been tough, and it will only get tougher, but I’m looking forward to the challenge. I have set myself the goal of completing it in under 2 hours. Ambitious I know, but it wouldn’t be a challenge otherwise!

Chloe x

Standard

Leave a Reply

